Triumph Thunderbird Sport – locking petrol cap

Posted: February 10, 2012 in Accessories
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Triumph Thunderbird Sport – Locking Petrol Cap

Today I ftted a locking petrol cap, it’s the Triumph Modern Classics one and the box states it’s for the Bonneville, Scrambler, T100 and Thruxton. Before I purchased mine, I did email a couple of dealers and asked if this cap would fit my bike (Thunderbird Sport 2003)?

I actually received mixed responses, one said it would fit whilst another said it wouldn’t?

I decided to take a chance and purchased anyway, it arrived today and I can confirm it does fit.

For those interested, the locking petrol cap Part Number is: A9930170. Mine was supplied in a box date stamped 06/03/09.

Triumph Thunderbird Sport Locking Petrol Cap

Triumph Thunderbird Sport Locking Petrol Cap

Now I have to say that I think the original Triumph petrol cap is great, a work of art; but I don’t want to run the risk of leaving the bike unattended without a locking petrol cap. So now I have both, if I’m just riding for fun and want to show the bike off, I could always pop the original cap back on. The original petrol cap has a much slimmer profile and definitely looks nicer, but better safe than sorry I reckon?

Triumph Thunderbird Sport Petrol Cap

Triumph Thunderbird Sport Original Petrol Cap

Triumph Thunderbird Sport Petrol Cap

Triumph Thunderbird Sport Original Petrol Cap

I’m assuming this second fuel cap ( or should I call it a gas cap? ) was the one originally supplied by Triumph when it was built in 2003?

Hopefully some Triumph Thunderbird Sport owner might find this helpful? If you know or can confirm the origins of the this petrol cap, then please post a comment.

Leave a comment